ICC Announces Groups for T20 World Cup 2021, India and Pakistan Placed Together

The ICC announced the groups for T20 World Cup 2021.

India is placed in the same group as Pakistan for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, the ICC is confirmed as it announced the groups for the tournament on Friday. The T20 World Cup will be held in UAE and Oman between October 17 and November 14.

India is placed in Group 2 of the Super 12s, with Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and the other two qualifiers from Round 1. Defending champions West Indies, England, Australia, and South Africa are in Group 1 along with two qualifiers from Round 1.

Group 1: West Indies, England, Australia, South Africa, Winner Group A, Runner up Group B

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Runner up Group A, Winner Group B.

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

“Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Netherlands, and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, whilst Oman, PNG, and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B,” the ICC announced.

ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said:

“We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great matchups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer.

“Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings which determine the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months.”

Source link